Couch to 5k…This Plan Works!

August 1, 2007 at 7:35 am 2 comments

I soooo admire the runners I see all over the place every day. I personally have always felt that running is very psychological, because even though my heart is in pretty darn good condition these days thanks to months spent at MamaTone, I can’t jog around the block without feeling that I need a break!

Recently I was reading one of those “Half Their Size” articles in Good Housekeeping magazine, and one of the gals featured sparked her interest in running using the Couch to 5k program. I tucked this nugget of info away for later, and recently revisited the idea…and it’s awesome! 8 weeks (or longer if needed) and you are running a 5k (3 miles). No joke, all you have to do the first week is walk briskly for 5 minutes and then alternate 60 seconds of running with 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes (3 times in a week)…now this is my kind of plan!

The purpose of this post is twofold. First and foremost I wanted to share this great find with everyone. Secondly, I’m putting it out there that I’m doing this so that I have an obligation to finish what I’m starting!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ICE – Now This Is A Good Idea! Preemie Magazine – Spread The Word!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisa  |  August 6, 2007 at 9:51 am

    I started week 1 day 1 of the couch potato to 5K today!

    Reply
  • 2. Erik  |  August 30, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Good to see someone else participating in the Couch-to-5K. I just finished my third week and have lost almost 10 lbs (my next weigh in is Monday…hopefully I’ll see a few more lbs come off). The C25K is something that has helped me tremendously. Good luck with your pursuit of shedding the weight! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

August 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

