What’s In Your (Kid’s) ipod?

June 26, 2007 at 8:20 pm 1 comment

The Apple ipod is a big deal at our house. We bought one that my husband never dreamed he could fill up, and now that’s my ipod and he is on to a bigger one! I describe all of this in fairly vague terms because I’m not nearly as techy as he is…he is for sure the ipod expert in our house.

But I have been known to make more than my share of download suggestions for our ipods…and not long after my son was born I asked, or maybe I begged, “can you pleeeeeease try to find some cool kid music for us to listen to?” Little did I know, and boy am I glad, that the children’s music genre is not merely the unkown person singing Mary Had A Little Lamb anymore! Here is a very short list of some of our fav kiddy music performers…

512inmnkghl__aa240_.jpgDan Zanes is my fav, and that’s why he tops this list. I like all of his songs, and I like his little videos in between shows on the Disney Channel in the mornings. Dan Zanes is coming here in concert in 2008, and I can’t wait!

41ncf2sjbsl__aa240_.jpgLisa Loeb…did you know she does kid’s music? Well she does, and it’s good stuff!

5128gzzr45l__aa240_.jpgRalph’s World…Ralph Covert is from Chicago, so I feel a midwestern kinship right off the bat. But his tunes are terrific too.

 515dyqf0k4l__aa240_.jpgJohnny Cash…yes, Johnny Cash! Did you know Johnny Cash put out a kid’s album in 1975? Remember, it came out in 1975, so don’t expect a light and sweet set of tunes…a  bit dark in tone, like everything Johnny Cash, but shouldn’t every kid be exposed to JC at an early age???

There are many more kid’s music artists loaded in our ipods…but this list will get you started…enjoy! 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Charge gadgets at the beach with Reware’s Juice Bag!! Going to Las Vegas and in need of designer sunglasses?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sarah  |  June 27, 2007 at 8:51 am

    You’ve got some great ones here and we have most of these – including the Johhny Cash album (my 2 1/2 yr old loves Johnny Cash). I wanted to suggest another great children’s artist – Justin Roberts. He is from Chicago and all his songs are great for kids but also for the parents. Another good album is Jerry Garcia and David Grisman – “Not For Kids Only.” They are mostly traditional folk songs and like the Johnny Cash album it is not all light and cheery. But great music and enjoyable for the parents as well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

